

# Annual General Meeting - Minutes 09 September 2017

**Present:** Nicola Kayes (President), Deborah Snell (Treasurer), Jo Nunnerley, Rachelle Martin, Peter Larmer, William Levack, Jen Dunn, Christine Bloomfield, Joanna Fadyl, Caroline Stretton, Christine Cummins, Suzie Mudge, Mahonri Owen, Kelly Scott, Sharon Olsen, Duncan Babbage, John Doherty, Felicity Bright

Apologies: Kathryn McPherson, Max Cavit, William Taylor

#### 1. Minutes from last AGM held 15 October 2015

Deborah Snell approved, Jo Nunnerley seconded; carried unanimously

#### 2. Presidents report – Nicola Kayes

As per attached powerpoint slides

- Nicola thanked William Levack for the considerable work he has done to support NZRA
  activities over the last year in handing over the treasurer role, as well as supporting
  membership and website activities.
- Membership fee We will be introducing a flat membership fee of \$25 per year. Conference attendees will get 6 month free membership commencing payment from 31 March 2018.
   Fees will help to cover costs of administrator to support key NZRA activities and roles (currently being advertised). Members will benefit from discounted attendance at NZRA events.
- We did not have a formal AGM in 2016 as such this meeting reviewed 2016 performance retrospectively, as well as 2017 performance.

Nicola moved that president's report be accepted. Christine Bloomfield accepted; Jo Nunnerley seconded; carried unanimously

### 3. Financial report – Deborah Snell

As per attached powerpoint slides

- William Levack commented that the surplus has been accumulating each year and suggested we need to consider using the money for supporting an administrator. This is in process.
- Nicola Kayes commented that 2015 conference was a joint conference with AFRM and these always lead to greater profit. Based on current projections, the 2017 conference is likely

going to run at a loss. It is believed that other competing conferences may have contributed to this.

• It was suggested that we may want to consider putting money into a high interest account.

Action: Debbie to investigate this further

<u>Debbie moved that the 2015-6 financial reports be approved.</u> Jennifer Dunn approved; Suzie Mudge seconded; carried unanimously.

<u>Debbie moved that the 2016-7 financial reports be approved.</u> Jo Nunnerley approved; Felicity <u>Bright seconded; carried unanimously.</u>

Nicola thanked Debbie for her extensive work with financial role and preparation of financial reports.

## 4. Membership update – William Levack

William Levack briefly overviewed the membership system via the NZRA website. He will put a video with instructions on the NZRA website.

# 5. Constitution changes

The following proposed changes to constitution were discussed:

#### Change 1

From:

Executive 5. b) There shall be a president, secretary and at least four other members, all to be elected at the Annual General Meeting. If an Executive position becomes vacant, the Executive shall have the power to co-opt a new Executive member.

To:

Executive 5. b) There shall be a president, secretary, <u>treasurer</u> and at least <u>three</u> other members, all to be elected at the Annual General Meeting. If an Executive position becomes vacant, the Executive shall have the power to co-opt a new Executive member.

### Change 2

From:

Executive 5. f) The term of office for President and Secretary shall be two years, but there shall be a maximum term of continuous service of four years.

To:

Executive 5. f) The term of office for President, Secretary <u>and Treasurer</u> shall be two years, but there shall be a maximum term of continuous service of four years.

### Change 3

From:

Executive 5. g) The term of office for members other than president and secretary shall be 3 years, but there shall be a maximum term of continuous service of six years.

To:

Executive 5. g) The term of office for members other than president, secretary and treasurer shall be 3 years, but there shall be a maximum term of continuous service of six years.

Nicola moved that the above changes to the NZRA be approved. Duncan Babbage approved; Peter Larger seconded; carried unanimously.

#### 6. Election of officers

Peter Larmer nominated Nicola for President Nicola Kayes nominated Debbie for Treasurer Jo Nunnerly self-nominated herself for Secretary, Nicola Kayes supported

<u>Peter Larmer moved to accept these nominations; Duncan Babbage seconded; passed unanimously.</u>

Action: we need to file any changes to executive positions with charities commission

Other executive members:

Kathryn McPherson retains role as Ex-president
Will Taylor - Australasian Faculty of Rehabilitation Medicine link
Max Cavit - non-academic link
Rachelle Martin - student link
Peter Larmer – musculoskeletal link

It was acknowledged that a number of executive members have surpassed their maximum term as far as the constitution is concerned so we need to explore options for replacing those members.

Action: to discuss at next executive meeting.

We have invited John Bourke to consider joining the executive given need to replace members that have stepped down since last AGM.

Action: Nicola to follow up with John.

Meeting closed at 1.35pm